When your costume has more fun than you do

Image 2
Modelled by the lovely Peggy Sue (had to screen shot this from Instagram as I accidentally deleted the original)

I blame Pinterest. And Fifty Shades of Gray.

I didn’t need a new costume. But after seeing a video of a famous Egyptian dancer in a sheer, fitted, evening gown style costume, I thought it was a project I believed could be achieved.

I found the perfect dress in an op shop. I bought a lotus pattern from an online supplier. I had a lot of fun with my metallic textas experimenting with possible colour combinations for the sequins and ended up buying holographic sequins that really catch the light.

It’s working title became ‘Blue Flash’.

Image

I didn’t have a specific piece of music in mind when I began this project. But since it was inspired by an Egyptian belly dancer, I felt like it should go with an Egyptian piece of music.

I found the song: Streets of Cairo. I spent countless hours happily imagining myself dancing and looking gorgeous as I sewed away.

Image 1
The basic design (purchased from Urban Threads.com)

If I managed to achieve half of what I pictured in my head, both for the costume and the choreography, I would astound myself. But they say if you can visualize it, you can do it. Unfortunately they don’t say how long that might take.

After I finished the embellishments I realised that more sequins would look great, but I’ve yet to embark on phase two.

10252098_10205630093931292_242868892566873854_n
The (for now) finished embellishments

The choreography I saw in my daydreams is still just a vision in my head. But a vision that has come to life in an unexpected way.

While studying I was hard up for money and tried to think of ways to make some quick cash. Inspired by the success of Fifty Shades of Gray (which I haven’t actually read or seen), I decided to have a go at penning some erotic tales. I thought I might be able to sell them online anonymously.

It was only natural that belly dancing should feature in these stories. And what should these dancers wear? Well, I had a wardrobe full of costumes that were awaiting their moment.

So ‘Blue Flash’ got to come out and play, in a manner of speaking.

I don’t begrudge her the opportunity. It was a lot of fun bringing her to life!

 

 

Leave a Reply

