The day I met Jesus

He didn’t look like I expected

He didn’t say what I thought he’d say

He hung out with those who seemed unlikely friends.

He looked straight into my eyes

I squirmed, because he knew it all

But he glowed with so much love

That I found myself smiling.

I’ve discovered a secret

He’s left pieces of himself all over the place

We only start to get the picture

When we look and listen

When we realise he’s looked into a thousand mirrors

And left his reflection in each one.

Yet I run from him

His price is too high to pay

For to love as he loves is to die as he did.

Master, you I could dance with forever

But your people peer with frightened eyes

From behind their walls

At the forest where I like to roam.

© 2015 Becky Milne

For many years my world was, in some ways, very small.

I judged everything through the filter of the values of my community within the wider community. And my default position was suspicion of anything that didn’t line up with what I had been taught.

Now before me I see a panoply of faces, people who have shown me how much beauty exists in the human heart, no matter what the background, beliefs, or lifestyle of an individual. Somewhere along my journey I stopped looking for the absence of God in people, and started seeing his presence everywhere. I thought I was leaving him behind, but it turned out God can handle a lot more difference than I realised.

I used to pray that I would see people as Jesus sees them. The glimpses I got were terrifying; they asked too much of me. And yet they also were a revelation – the divine spirit we all carry.

I now think that I can’t categorise myself religiously. Every label comes with connotations and expectations. And my heart aches at the exclusion that people I love feel because of some of these.

I believe in right and wrong. But I also believe that our filters of culture and subculture, our different motivations, our fears, and our love of comfort, skew our notions far more than we are honest about.

I over think things, no doubt. Better that, though, than blindly accepting a point of view that is promoted by any people who, consciously or unconsciously, lead you to view your fellow humans as ‘others’. That leads to all kinds of cruel behaviour.

 

3 thoughts on “The day I met Jesus

Leave a Reply

